
Look what the cat dragged in... himself.
When I was little, I would sometimes watch, I believe it was, the Disney Channel. Or maybe it was Nickelodeon. Doesn't matter. There used to be a little cartoon short, it was about this old man who had a cat and would try various things to get rid of it (like tying it to a hot air balloon), but the cat would always always come back. The theme song went like this: The cat came back the very next day, the cat came back, they thought he was a gonner, but the cat came back the very next day, the cat came back he just couldn't stay away. Sometimes my love life feels like that. (oh, and they probably took that short off TV cause it was kind of sending abusive messages about how to get rid of a cat).
It has been a little while, of which I will be the first to confess the lack of "action" I have had this past week and a half. All of the sudden, it seemed like all of the guys in my life were in some sort of transcendental bottleneck- all stuck in a position unobtainable to me. And so it went. And I was A-OK with this, because I figured, if I was unable to be alone with myself, then it would go to reason that I was in no shape to be in a relationship. It was just to not be so.
And so it went. I was, well, not happy but satisfied with where I was, laughing at all of the guys stuck in the aforesaid "bottleneck" because I made the realization that most of them were just as trapped, at least emotionally, as I was. To further illustrate this- My Ex keeps calling me. As much as I enjoy his friendship and company, his presence can often hinder me from, well, what ever guy scenario should present itself. And because I have been hanging out with friend-of-a-friend almost every other day now, that seems like it could be a problem. But I thought- screw it! I can hang out with Ex just as a friend. After all, he is, since I have been in Seattle, the person I have most consistently and for the longest period of time been friends with now.
I told him that I would go to The Shining with him and I also offered him to tag along with me to Bloc Party. Yippee! That should be enough for him, right? Wrong. At 3:00 in the afternoon he started calling me to hang out with him. I respectfully declined, but reassured him that we would see the movie and get to hang out then. As if this wasn't enough, he called me for dinner as well- to which I reminded him that I was busy (bold face lie) and I would see him at the movie.
I ended up going to Bauhaus with Wifey after our romantic dinner for two*cough cough* (oh, at which one of the servers gave us a complimentary dish courtesy another server). And wouldn't you know who just happened to show up at Bauhaus whilst we were enjoying some sort of solemnity? Ex. For the simple reason, admitted on his part, that we were there and he didn't want to hang out with his other friend.
*Side note: I had dinner with him the other day, to which he also readily admitted to blowing off his current girlfriend, who wanted to have dinner with him, so he could have dinner with me*
While we three were at Bauhaus I receive a text message. I found this rather perplexing considering the only people who ever really text me are, well, sitting at my table. And wouldn't you know it, Friend-of-a-friend asking me what we are up to. This is monumental. He has never really text messaged me first. I respond with our plans- Bauhaus now, drinks in a minute, then the movie. He tells me he is with a friend and we should join them. Fuck. Part of what makes my dating life miserable, but sort of successful now (and I have accomplished this through mistakes in the past), is the fact that I avoid having two guys from my sorted dating affairs in the same place at the same time. But I just could not pass up an opportunity to see Friend-of-a-friend though an hour or so earlier, I told Wifey that I was getting over him. Ooooops.
We met up. It was awkward because Ex was getting uncomofrtable and a bit hostile towards Friend-of-a-friend at times. We ended up not going to the movie because Wifey was too afraid to go, I didn't want to be left alone with the Ex, and I didn't want to leave Friend-of-a-friend. So we all stayed and drank- a very small amount, mind you.
Wifey's car was back down at Bauhaus, which was a few blocks from where we were at. We told FOAF we would give him a ride to his place, and wouldn't you know who just had to tag along? Ex. Godah Dam Mitt. It didn't even make sense for him to get a ride from us because he had to walk further to Wifey's car then he would to walk to his own- which was in the opposite direction of where we were parked anyway. And then, to make matters worse, he kept trying to get me to take a ride home with him. I refused numerous times.
And what happened next is probably the only real thing worth reading in this post.
To start out, one of my major complaints with my "love"(ha) life is the complete paradox of it all: I can't seem to find anyone, and yet I can't seem to get rid of the ones that I have dated. Which makes me think, how did I get those guys in the first place? Why can't I get more? Why does it seem as though I don't have any? And then why wont they leave me be after we are through? I mean, lets face it, even Speed Dumper, who "broke-up" with me via text message after we had only known each other for an hour or so took it back and wanted to "get back together and work things out". I don't understand.
This being stated- Wifey and I got back to my apartment. I receive a text message from Ex. He is talking about how he is glad we can still hang out, blah blah fucking blah. I get bored with his text so I check my myspace in the mean time. One new message. Yippee! Wait! Hold on! It is from the 19 year old!!!! The message is simple and reads like this:
Subject: I...
Body: I miss you.
Ha! How does this happen? Why do they come back to me? And again, how is it that I can't manage to get guys, but I can't get rid of them either? Beats the fuck out of me. I am left scratching my head on this one.
One final note- 31 deleted me from his friends list on facebook. I don't know why I took offense to this. I was the one who ditched him, and yet I am slightly offended that he deleted me as a friend. 19 year old did this too, and look what happened- a month later he decides he misses me. I have no clue what, or if, I am going to say in response to that.










